PORTLAND Ore.- At its annual fall meeting the Portland Rose Festival Foundation inducted four new board members, introduced the 2014 officers and handed out service awards at the World Trade Center Thursday evening in downtown Portland. The officers officially take their chairs November first at the beginning of the Festival’s calendar year. 

Board officers:

President – Todd Johnston, CEO, Selectron Technologies, Inc.

President Elect – Frank Chinn, retired

Vice President – Brett Baker, US Trust, Bank of America Private Wealth Management

Secretary- Arthur De Bow, Director of Exhibitions and Alumni Affairs Oregon College of Art and Craft

Treasurer – Peter Mack, President/CEO, Occuscreen

Assistant Treasurer – Sarah Friend, Employee Benefits Consultant, The Partners Group 

By unanimous vote the board welcomed four new members: 

Jimmy Drakos is President of Avalon Properties/Willamette Capital Group, a real estate development firm. A former tennis touring professional, Jimmy chose the Portland area for his home; he is still active in the tennis community, serving as Tennis Director at the Waverley Country Club. 

Richard Horswell is the Principal Creative Executive for Regency Media LLC. He has served on numerous boards and committees, including UO Foundation, SOLVE, the Old Church Society, the Portland Opera Guild, the Member Events Committee at the MAC Club and the University Club Board of Directors; he currently serves as President of the University Club Foundation. 

Karen Bonelli Sanquist is a seamstress in the Portland area. She has served on the Court Committee for several years, including using her seamstress skills to help with the Court wardrobe. 

Cheryl Zander is co-owner of Vaya Creative LLC, an artistic services company. She is a member of the Portland Business Alliance and a board member of CASA for Children, as well as a Cycle Oregon volunteer. 

The Rose Festival proudly recognizes those who have given so much to the Festival through their volunteerism and dedication: 

Volunteers of the Year:

Shari MacDonald – financial consultant

Rod Weick – Band Hosting program


Directors of the Year:

Liza McQuade

Contesa Diaz-Nicolaidis


Rookie of the Year:

Carla Stenberg


Lifetime Achievement Award:

Tony Hufford – 25 years of board service 

The Portland Rose Festival Foundation is a non-profit that serves families and individuals with programs and events that promote the arts, education and volunteerism. We value environmental responsibility, diversity, patriotism and our historic & floral heritage. For the latest Rose Festival news and events go to www.RoseFestival.org.